Geneious Biologics works best if each user in your organisation has a separate login. This allows each user to keep private folders, and view the jobs they have run. It also allows users to have their own table column schemes, job options, and Sequence Viewer preferences remembered. Users can be organised into groups, to manage folder sharing more easily.
To add a new user into your organisation, click Users in the sidebar and click New in the main page. Only administrators can manage users for your organisation.
Fill in the appropriate details and click Create User.
A Geneious account activation email will be sent to the email address which contains instructions on password setup and account activation.
Handy Tip: Account activation emails only last one week, for security reasons. If a user doesn't click the activation link during this time, they can receive a new activation link by resetting their password.
Note that only admin accounts have administrative rights to create user accounts, name schemes, labels, scaffolds and primer sets.
Admins can view a user's details by selecting the user and clicking 'Edit'. This screen allows you to edit that user's name. Email addresses cannot currently be changed.
"All" transfers all the user's folders to you, including any private folders. "Shared" transfers only folders that the user created that were shared with at least one other person.
If you deactivate someone by accident, please contact support. We can reverse the user deactivation. The folder transfer is not reversible, but you can re-share any transferred folders with the user again.
Creating a User group
To share folders with a team or members of a project, users can be organised into groups. To create a user group, first add any users using the instructions above, then navigate to the 'Groups' tab.
In the Groups tab you will see any existing groups within your organisation. To create a new group of users, simply click 'New'.
When creating a group, users can be added by searching for a user's name or email address. To remove a user simply click the trash button beside their name.
To see the current users within an existing group, select the group in the table and then click 'Edit'. From here you can choose to add or remove users from the group. Once you have adjusted the users in a group and clicked 'Save changes', this will automatically update the folder access permissions for any folders shared with that group. For more information about folder sharing, see here.